English is Nutty 4

Most of us use Nutty English expression to mean something entirely different than what we are actually saying. 

What is said-What is meantWhy it’s nutty

I could care less – I couldn’t care less – think about it. 

 

I miss not seeing youI miss seeing you – unless you’re breaking up. 

 

A non-stop flight – A flight with no intermediate stops – all flights stop

 

My idea fell between the cracksfell into the cracks – between cracks is good 

 

A hot water heatera water heater – Who heats hot water?

 

a hot cup of coffeea cup of hot coffee – enough said.

 

It was said by a nameless officialunnamed officialmost folks have names

 

Put your best foot forwardWRONG – one foot is good, second foot is better. 

 

Keep a stiff upper lipWRONG – the lower lip is the one that quivers

 

 The movie kept me literally glued to my seat

The move kept me figuratively glued to my seat – Get out the glue-b-gone.

 

Got any nutty favorites, leave me a comment.

About robertstevenson

Dr. Robert Stevenson is a Professor of Journalism and Director of Student Publications for the Department of Mass Communications and Theater at Lander University in Greenwood, SC. He received the Distinguished Faculty of the Year award for 2007-'08, and the Lander University Young Faculty Scholar Award in 2005-06. Stevenson also serves as chair of the Lander University American Democracy Project. First and Formost I am a dad of two wonderful boys.
This entry was posted in *grammar posts, Fun stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to English is Nutty 4

  1. I’m sure you can find a couple in my blog LOL! Thanks for this post I learned a lot 🙂

  2. praning5254 says:

    These are really true…those morons…LOL

  3. TimMc says:

    I like your site. I’m bookmarking it when I get done leaving this comment.

    You might want to revise this line:

    “Put your best foot forward – WRONG – one food is good, second foot is better.”

    Don’t you mean “one foot is good…”? 🙂

    Have fun…

  4. Wow, good catch TimMc.

    There goes my credibility.
    Still, I’m posting it
    for all to see.
    There must be something wrong with me.

    – Robsmegaphone’s first poem 🙂

  5. TimMc says:

    Here’s a phrase I keep hearing these days:

    “A whole ‘nother”

    As in, “Hey, I didn’t know we had a whole ‘nother box of twinkies!”

    Argh…

  6. Cool Tim,
    Thanks – if you feel like it, why don’t you consider joining my grammar group:http://www.blogcatalog.com/group/the-grammar-group
    We have a blast.

Leave a Reply

