Last night I was 4,000. Today, I’m over 30,000

Yesterday, soon after waking up – coffee in hand, I prepared my post on gurning. I checked my hits: 4,011 since I started on March 5, 2008. Three days ago, Robs Megaphone was in the 2,000 range, but my pic Silly sign #16 went to the top on Digg.com.

Today, soon after I woke up – coffee brewing, I checked my hits: 31,000. I’ve had over 26,000 hits since I posted Silly headlines: dead funny.  21,000 alone came from reddit.com (which I hadn’t even heard of before now). I ‘ve spent most of my time since then deleting email notifications to check my comments.  After wading through the comments, I noticed there was a debate on the authenticity of the headline. I’d like to clear that up right now.

The answer is – drum roll please – I have no idea. 🙂   The picture was sent to  me by a friend. I laughed, then posted it to share the joy. I’ve googled the headline, and I  found that it has been around. Several comments from the graphic arts world called the pic a good forgery, and several from the newspaper industry believe it could be authentic – they’ve seen slip-ups like this. I was glad to find that even those who thought the pic. might have been photoshopped had a good laugh.

My goal here at Robs Megaphone is twofold:

1. to post about writing – specifically trying to make learning about grammar and writing fun, and

2. to post funny, interesting stuff.

When planning for Robs Megaphone, I had hoped that visitors who stopped by for the “funny, interesting stuff” would meander through my Rob’s library and stumbleupon – I mean discover and enjoy my musings on writing. For those who visited Rob’s Megaphone for my writing posts, I wanted to have something fun to laugh and think about.

I’m new to blogging, but I’m having a blast. I hope you enjoy Robs Megaphone. I look forward to your continued comments, and I will do my best to inform and entertain with – as the great Arsenio Hall put it – things that make you go hmmmmmm.

About robertstevenson

Dr. Robert Stevenson is a Professor of Journalism and Director of Student Publications for the Department of Mass Communications and Theater at Lander University in Greenwood, SC. He received the Distinguished Faculty of the Year award for 2007-'08, and the Lander University Young Faculty Scholar Award in 2005-06. Stevenson also serves as chair of the Lander University American Democracy Project. First and Formost I am a dad of two wonderful boys.
This entry was posted in Amazing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Last night I was 4,000. Today, I’m over 30,000

  1. RonLin says:

    Holy… What did you do to get 30,000 over hits?

  2. Lenka Bliss says:

    wow 😀 30 000 hits over night is pretty interesting 😀 I would think it’s just some mistake if that ever happened to me 😀

    Anyway, I like your blog especially because of that diversity. Writing stuff is extremely helpful and sometimes really funny (e.g. write good is *brilliant*) and even though I am not into funny pics like “dead funny” I like to browse through this stuff, too 🙂
    So keep it up and hope you get more hits! 🙂 At least then there might be fewer people with terrible grammar 😀

    And when I speak about grammar, can I please ask you something? I argued with my English teacher today (she hardly speaks English) about the sentence “The saying that the U.S. is a melting pot *means/meaning* that there is one homogenous American nation living there does not hold true any longer”.

    I said it must be *means* she said there is *meaning* in the key (of course she always has to rely on keys)

    So thanks very much in advance 🙂

    And once again congrats on your hits! Highly deserved :))

  3. Paul says:

    Congratulations Robert. It couldn’t happen to a nicer guy.

  4. John says:

    Reddit isn’t quite as popular as Slashdot or BoingBoing, but it ain’t none too bad.

    Spend these 15 minutes of Internet fame wisely. 🙂

  5. Dark Angel says:

    If i killed you, can i keep your site?

Leave a Reply

