Write good 2

  • One should never generalize.
  • Eliminate quotations. As Ralph Waldo Emerson once said: “I hate quotations. Tell me what you know.”
  • Comparisons are as bad as cliches.
  • Don’t be redundant; don’t use more words than necessary; it’s highly superfluous.
  • It behooves you to avoid archaic expressions.
  • Avoid archaeic spellings too.
  • Understatement is always best.
  • Exaggeration is a billion times worse than understatement.
  • One-word sentences? Eliminate. Always!
  • Analogies in writing are like feathers on a snake.

About robertstevenson

Dr. Robert Stevenson is a Professor of Journalism and Director of Student Publications for the Department of Mass Communications and Theater at Lander University in Greenwood, SC. He received the Distinguished Faculty of the Year award for 2007-'08, and the Lander University Young Faculty Scholar Award in 2005-06. Stevenson also serves as chair of the Lander University American Democracy Project. First and Formost I am a dad of two wonderful boys.
This entry was posted in *grammar posts, *writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Write good 2

  1. Lenka Bliss says:

    I am going to pretend I’ve never read this. According to this I am probably the worst writer ever đŸ˜€ I’ll read your post about the pleasure of writing once again as to forget about this ASAP :D:D:D

  2. 993C4S says:

    Okay, you got me. It did take a minute, but I cam back and re-read. Very subtle humor. I like it.

  3. I love you last two posts on writing. Both are Very accessible with great content. Don’t forget you can post them on “The Idiots Guide to Blogging”!

Leave a Reply

